This program prepares licensed cosmetologists who have already worked in a salon to become licensed as qualified teachers of cosmetology theory and practice in the industry as well as in public or private institutions. Students receive training in teaching methods, course outlining and development, and appropriate evaluation techniques. Included are law, beauty school management, and record keeping. To obtain state licensing, students must complete 500 hours of instruction and pass the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology written and practical exams for students who have worked in a salon for two of the previous five years.
|Course Description||Course Hours|
|Course Outline and Development - Practicing||165|
|Introduction to Teaching - Practicing||60|
|Law, Beauty School Management, and Record Keeping - Practicing||45|
|Orientation and Review of Cosmetology Curriculum - Practicing||30|
|Practice Teaching in the Classroom and Clinic - Practicing||125|
|Teaching and Assisting in the Classroom and Clinic - Practicing||75|
Morning session – 8:10 – 11:10 a.m.
Afternoon session – 12:45 – 3:45 p.m.
Clock Hours/Weeks of Instruction: 500/19
Normal Completion Time: 1 year for half-time status
Licensure/Certifications: Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology Master Instructor License
Financial Aid Eligibility: This program is not eligible for financial aid.
LICENSURE/CERTIFICATION COSTS: State Board Exam Registration Fee ($50.00) and the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology Basic Cosmetologist License Fee ($50.00) plus the State Board Registration Fee ($50.00) after the student obtains a passing score on the state licensure test. The student will be responsible for the $5.00 State Board Registration Fee.
Before purchasing these items, check with your instructor for more complete details.
Total Estimated Cost: $650 Plus scrubs
For more information on occupations go to http://www.onetonline.org
Prospective adults student are required to complete an application and submit appropriate documentation for consideration for acceptance. Admission is based on a point system. Fill out the application and see the MATC counselor to set up an interview. Points are earned for test scores, letter of recommendation, interview, education, career plans, career interest, and work experience in the field.
OSBCTE (Oklahoma State Board of Career & Technology Education)
OSBCB (Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering)
Gainful Employment: This program does not meet the minimum 600 clock hours for Gainful Employment Reporting.
ACT WorkKeys National Career Readiness Certificate
Master Cosmetology Instructor – Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering(OSBCB)
**Career Technical Student Organization (CTSO)
Before beginning classes, students must provide the following: Valid Oklahoma state identification, 2x3-inch face photo less than one-year-old and Cashier’s check ($5.00) payable to the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology.
This program is subject to space availability and pre-requisite approval.